The **Boltzmann Award** is presented by the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the IUPAP every three years, at the Statphys Conference. The award, consisting of a gilded medal, honours outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. The recipient is a scientist who has not received the Boltzmann Medal or Nobel Prize before.

The C3 commission is pleased to announce that the Boltzmann Medal for 2010 is awarded to:

John Cardy, for his numerous seminal contributions to two-dimensional critical phenomena in statistical physics, including the development and application of conformal field theory, finite-size effects and percolation.

Bernard Derrida, for his major contributions to the understanding of disordered and of outof-equilibrium systems, in particular through the random energy model, and through his breakthroughs in the asymmetric exclusion model.



John Cardy



Bernard Derrida