# C5 Activity Report for the IUPAP C&CC Meeting - Geneva CERN, October 2013

(submitted by K. Kono, Chair C5, September 2013)

#### Officers/Members 2011-2014

Chair: Kimitoshi Kono Japan
Vice-Chair: Karen Hallberg Argentina
Secretary: John Saunders UK
Members: John Beamish Canada

Nan Lin Wang
Jukka Pekola
Jean-Pascal Brison
Christian Pfleiderer
Srinivasan Ramakrishnan
China
Finland
France
Germany
India

Hu-Jong Lee Republic of Korea Hans Hilgenkamp The Netherlands

Alexander Smirnov Russia

Alexander Feher Slovak Republic

Robert Hallock USA

#### **Associate Members:**

Jacek Kossut Poland (from C8) YoshiChika Otani Japan (from C9)

Juhn-Jong Lin Taiwan

### Main Achievements

#### 1. Commission Meeting

C5 holds its major triennial formal meeting in advance of the General Assembly on the occasion of the meeting of International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT), our major Type A conference held every three years. The previous meeting was in August of 2011 in Beijing at the time of LT26. In August of 2014 LT27 will be held in Buenos Aires, when we will have a face-to-face meeting. We have conducted business effectively by e-mail in the interim.

# 2. Sponsored Conference (2012)

## Type B

International Conference on Quantum Fluids and Solids 2012 (QFS2012)

August 15-21, 2012, Lancaster, UK:

267 registered participants (26 women) from 25 countries;

9 keynote talks and 55 invited talks (3 by women), and approximately

210 posters;

Co-chairs: S.N. Fisher and G.R. Pickett

#### 3. Sponsored Conference (2013)

#### Type B

International Conference on Quantum Fluids and Solids 2013 (QFS2013)

August 1-6, 2013, Matsue, Japan;

220 participants (14 women) from 23 countries;

10 plenary talks and 47 invited talks (1 by women), and 147 posters;

Chairman: Y. Okuda, Co-Chairman: K. Kono

4. Sponsored Conferences (anticipated for 2014 and beyond)

#### Type A

27th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT27), early approval August 6-13, 2014, Buenos Aires, Argentina;

about 1,200 participants

Chair: S. Hern'andez, Co-Chair: V. Bekeris

#### Type B

International Conference on Ultralow Temperature Physics (ULT 2014), proposition August 16-19, 2014, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina;

200-300 participants

Organizers: Henri Godfrin, Julio Guimpel, J. Luzuriaga, E. Osquiguil

5. IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Low Temperature Physics The following solicitation for the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Low Temperature Physics is posted on the C5 website and distributed in the community. Up to three prizewinners will be nominated in early 2014 by C5. The Prize award ceremony will be held at the LT27 Conference in August 2014. All prizewinners will give an invited talk.

# CALL FOR NOMINATIONS **IUPAP Young Scientist Prize** in Low Temperature Physics 2014

Nominations are being sought for the Young Scientist Prize in Low Temperature Physics, which will be awarded by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics through the Commission C5 (Low Temperature Physics) in 2014. The prize will be awarded during the 27th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT27) to be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, August 6—13, 2014. The Prize includes a medal, the sum approved by IUPAP, and an invited presentation to be made at LT27.

The nominee is expected to have made original and outstanding contributions to the field of low temperature physics. If the work was performed in collaboration, the leading personal contribution of the recipient to the achievement must be clearly identifiable. Nominees for the prize should by January 5, 2014 have a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruption) following the award of PhD.

# Nominations should include:

- A letter of not more than 1,000 words evaluating the nominee's achievements and identifying the specific work to be recognized.
- Curriculum vitae that identifies all publications.
- A brief biographical sketch not to exceed two pages.
- Suggested text for the award citation.

Self-nominations will not be considered. Nominations should be sent to the chair of IUPAP C5: preferably by web upload (http://lt.riken.jp/iupap/young scientist/prize.shtml), e-mail with attachments (e-mail: kkono@riken.jp), or by regular mail (Dr. K. Kono, Low Temperature Physics Laboratory, RIKEN, Hirosawa 2-1, Saitama, 351-0198 Japan).

Deadline for receipt of nominations is January 5, 2014.