# **C8 - Commission on Semiconductors**

# by Robin Nicholas

IUPAP C8 Commission met on 2 July 2013 during EP2DS/MSS conference, Wroclaw

# 1. Young Scientist Prize in Semiconductor Physics (YSP-SP)

A discussion was held and arrangements agreed for the Young Scientist competition to be held for 2014. It was agreed that the same application and selection procedure should be used as for 2012 and that the timing should be so that the prize winners could present their work as invited talks and receive their prizes during the ICPS2014 conference. A discussion was held about renaming the prize as an Early Career prize which was not enthusiastically greeted, but without very strong opinions being expressed.

# 2. Planning and Supervision of ICPS (Int. Conf. on Phys. of Semiconductors) series of Conferences

Formal agreement was made to recommend the application for IUPAP sponsorship as a category A conference for ICPS 2014 to be held in Austin, Texas, 10-14/08/2012 which were well in hand. Following consultations with colleagues in Australia, China and France, two full bids were received to host the 2016 ICPS-33 conference in Beijing and Montpelier. Both groups of colleagues made impressive presentations to the committee which were also circulated to the full committee. Following discussion of the bids and further email consultations it was decided to follow the normal conference rotation sequence and award the meeting to the consortium from China.

A discussion was held on possible locations for the 2018 ICPS-34 conference and it was decided to request bids to be submitted for consideration at the next C8 commission meeting which will take place during ICPS2014 in Austin.

### 3. Supporting Other Conferences

A bid for IUPAP support was subsequently received from the HMFSP conference 2014, which could not be supported as this is a satellite meeting of the ICPS conference and therefore not eligible under IUPAP rules.

#### 4. Raising the profile of IUPAP

This was briefly discussed without any clear ideas other than continuing to promote the Young Scientist Prize, which was viewed as a considerable success. There was no enthusiasm for the production of a commission newsletter.

# 5. Commission membership

The addition of the co-opted members of the C5 and C17 commissions. Jukka Pekola (Finland) and Jason Petta(US) were noted.

## **Next meeting:**

During ICPS2014 meeting Austin, Texas, 10-14 August 2014.

#### Commission membership 2011-14.

### **OFFICERS: Country: E-Mail:**

Chair R. J. Nicholas UK r.nicholas@physics.ox.ac.uk

Vice Chair S. J. Lee Korea leesj@dongguk.edu Secretary M.Thewalt Canada thewalt@sfu.ca

#### **MEMBERS:**

D. Awschalom US awsch@physics.ucsb.edu

G. Borgs Belgium borghs@imec.be ensslin@phys.ethz.ch K. Ensslin Switzerland haug@nano.uni-hanover.de R. Haug Germany Per-Olof Holtz poh@ifm.liu.se Sweden bk@if.ufrj.br B. Koiler Brazil kossut@ifpan.edu.pl J. Kossut Poland J. Pekola Finland pekola@boojum.hut.fi J. Petta petta@princeton.edu US Arnel Salvador arnels@nip.upd.edu.ph **Philippines** Pascale.senellart@lpn.cnrs.fr P. Senellart France

R.Suris Russia suris@theory.ioffe.ru S. Tarucha Japan tarucha@ap.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp