C10 Report at Commission Chairs Meeting London, November 1, 2011 Commission on Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter Submitted by Sam Bader, C10 Chair

• C10 announces the winner of its 2012 C10 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize (YSP):

Dr. Andrew D. Christianson Staff Scientist Oak Ridge National Laboratory Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831-6473 (USA)

"For outstanding contributions to the study of magnetic structure and dynamics of strongly correlated electron systems including heavy Fermion, magnetoelectric, and Fe-based superconducting systems."

This is the third C10 YSP competition. This year there were 4 new nominees plus 12 that rolled over from last year's competition. The nominees were from institutions in 10 countries. 14 Commissioners participated in the scoring of nominees.

The Prize will be awarded at the 2012 American Physical Society March Meeting, to be held in Boston, Massachusetts from February 27th to March 2nd. Dr. Christianson will present an invited talk at that meeting. He will also receive his Certificate and Medal during that meeting at a Tuesday afternoon Reception co-sponsored by the Division of Condensed Matter Physics.

- C10 voted to transfer its allocated funds to subsidize student travel to the African School on Electronic Structure Methods and Applications, to be held in Kenya in 2012. This is a worthy program that C10 had previously endorsed, and that has been pioneered by C13 (Commission on Physics for Development) and C20 (Commission on Computational Physics).
- C10 proposes no new conferences this year for IUPAP endorsement:
- C10 does not sponsor its own conference. However, C10 continues to work on organizing a venue for its first face-to-face meeting.